IB and Pre-IB term dates

girl falling into a monster on stage
Autumn Term 2018
Thursday 30 August Arrivals Day — first-year IB and all other new students
Thursday 30 August – Sunday 2 September IB and Pre-IB Orientation
Sunday 2 September Arrivals Day — remaining second-year students return between 10:00 and 20:00
Monday 3 September 09:00 — Classes start
Friday 19 October Teaching finishes at 16:15
Saturday 20 October Departure Day – students leave by 12:00
Half-term holiday – college closed to students
Sunday 28 October Arrivals Day – student return between 10:00 and 20:00
Friday 14 December Teaching finishes at 16:15
Saturday 15 December Departure Day — students leave by 12:00
Christmas holiday – college closed to students
Spring Term 2019
Thursday 03 January Arrivals Day  students return and new students arrive
Parent-Teacher meetings 15:30 – 17:30
Friday 04 January 09:00 – IB classes start
Orientation for Pre-IB students
Friday 15 February Teaching finishes at 16:15
Saturday 16 February Departure Day – students leave by 12:00
Half-term holiday – college closed to students
Sunday 24 February Arrivals Day – students return between 10:00 and 20:00
Monday 25 February 09:00 – classes start
Friday 5 April Teaching finishes at 16:15
Saturday 6 April Departure Day – students leave by 12:00
Easter holiday – college closed to students
Summer Term 2019
Tuesday 23 April Arrivals Day  students return between 10:00 and 20:00
Wednesday 24 April 09:00 – classes start
Thursday 2 May – Friday 24 May Final exams for second year students
Tuesday 21 May – Monday 27 May Term 3 exams for first year students
Tuesday 28 May Graduation Day for second year IB students
Wednesday 29 May Departure Day for second year IB students – all graduating students leave by 12.00
Saturday 8 June – Thursday 13 June Science field courses for first year IB students
Friday 21 June Classes finish at 13:15. Parent -Teacher meetings 14:00 – 16:00
Saturday 22 June Departure Day – first year IB and Pre-IB students – students leave by 10:00

Kevin – Indonesian

Kevin - recent IB graduate from St Clare's Oxford

Design at Melbourne University Australia

Coming here is such a unique experience and is one that allows anyone to grow and develop themselves for the better! You meet the nicest of friends and the most supportive of teachers and staff that integrate with you in a level found nowhere else.  It has definitely prepared me for my next stage in life as I come out a more independent and determined person.

Further Reading

IB Orientation Olympics

The orientation weekend would not be complete without the Orientation Olympics. This is an annual event for new students arriving to study Pre-IB or IB and each student is assigned a team: Blue, Green, Yellow or Red. They play a range of fun games...

2018 IB Results

Big congratulation to our IB class of 2018! St Clare’s students achieved outstanding results with an average score of 36 points. The average score worldwide is 30 points. Students have gained places at Oxford, LSE and top universities around the world. For...

Bletchley Park Visit

  On the 29 April 2018, 11 IB students and 4 teachers visited Bletchley Park, the place which was once the central site for British codebreakers during World War Two. The location, famous for where Alan Turing broke the enigma code is perfect our history students as...

Do you have any questions about these dates?

We are happy to advise you about starting dates and holidays.

Contact Elena Hesse, Vice Principal – Pastoral

Back to top ^

St Clare's, Oxford